Sunday, June 21, 2009

best wine ever

just wanted to give a shout out to my favorite wine since it is almost summertime and the time for whites is upon us friends. i need to start by saying that i am not a connoisseur but i do make trips to tj's wine shop frequently so my judgement is aight. the only white wine i enjoy these days is sauvingon blanc. sure it may be difficult to say being from texas, but this smooth, crisp and dry white doesn't have any enemies that i know of. everyone is a fan. there is a particular brand i found one day while at tj's. i had heard that new zealand has the best savvy blancs, so i went to the appropriate aisle and there it was. the label was very simple. price was right and i'm sure it had one of those recommended/top 50 labels next to the price tag so it sounded like a sure bet. so next time you're at any wine shop, please take advantage.


here's to you brancott. may our friendship last a lifetime.



p.s. annie and greg are no longer 3 feet apart all day. congrats to annie in her pursuit of an mfa.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

The Fifth Element round two? Unfortunately, no...

In the new issue of W Magazine Bruce Willis and his new leading lady, model Emma, are featured together in an S&M style photo shoot. I've never worked with him, but Bruce doesn't strike me as the type to blur the line between his private and professional lives. I guess what we are left with is a little known model whose new uber-famous hubby is throwing her career a bone. Or perhaps this is Bruce crying out that Demi is not the only member of AARP who can bag a young one. Unfortunately for the newlyweds these pictures are just so stupid.

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Inappropriate!


If there is one thing Greg makes fun of me for its my NetFlix queue. He says its annoying which is his gentle way of calling me snobby and uptight. He also accuses me of applying this psychology to the music I listen to - according to Greg, on more than one occasion (per Greg, "All the time") I've told him I didn't like some new band we were listening to at work and then as soon as I hear it on NPR All Songs Considered it becomes my new favorite. Isn't Greg vicious?

Anyway the point is that if I'm going to watch a movie for leisure (we have to watch movies for work all the time) I want it to be one that makes me feel better for having watched it. Movies that come up in conversations that I would like to contribute to, you know?

Well last night I saw a movie that would make a phony out of me. THE HANGOVER. There is nothing uptight about it. This is a movie that crosses the line.... and then keeps going and going. Its completely absurd. Did I feel like a bad person for laughing when Zach Galifianakis takes a baby's hand and makes him appear to masturbate? Yes. Did I keep laughing anyway? Yes. Racial profiling - check. Mental Retardation jokes - check. Misogyny - double check.

This movie is raunchy, bordering on foul, but it works. I think it works because all the actors totally go for it - they go all the way. And we are talking about a cliche bachelor party meets Vegas plot!

So this is what I take away from THE HANGOVER- Don't take yourself too seriously. Things that are absurd and don't happen in real life are the most entertaining. There is a bad person in all of us.

Greg leaves for Vegas today at 5pm (I swear.) And like they say in Slumdog, it is written.